whew what a week (s)

I’ve been trying very hard to get it all together. We are into our third week of school (second full week) and I still feel as if I’m running in slow motion trying to get everything done I need to. This past week we started our first week full time. It was a long and tiring week for first graders and teacher alike. But we made it through and are back again this week!

I started my graduate class at OSU last week as well. It is 45 minutes away, and at 7:20 at night until 10:00. I am usually in bed at “dark-thirty” as my hubby likes to say, so this is a struggle for me. I found myself in a classroom full of young smart not- yet- hired- so I’ll go to graduate school- teachers and I felt like a million years old. I must have had some strange looks on my face because after class the professor (thankfully we’re a little closer in age) laid her hand on my arm and asked if I “was ok.” I think so….it’s just very different from first grade. 🙂

Last week was also the first week for my NEW student teacher. She is from our town and very sweet. The kids and I are both very excited to have her in our classroom. I told her I felt I owed her an apology because she was “stuck” with me as her cooperating teacher, because things have been C-R-A-Z-Y these first few weeks, but she says she feels right at home. Yay for the crazies! My student teacher from last year was hired to teach third grade in our building. I am very excited. She had to hurry and get her room ready in about three days’ time, so she is a bit frazzled as well. It is nice to have her in our school, and hopefully she and I both can help Lindsay through her student teacher days!

I have decided to make a schedule for slicing, and blogging so that I don’t miss out like I have the last two weeks. That is my goal for the LOOOOOONNNGGG weekend! I have packed a few slices in one here but I hope I’m all caught up now and can make that schedule and stick to it. That is my hope….this week.

13 responses to this post.

  1. I chuckled while reading your piece. Last year, I could have written this. Still in school, student teacher, first grade teacher…
    Things will settle down (as I know you know) but until they do it always has that feel of a treadmill going a little too fast:)

    Reply

  2. Oh-you’ve taken a lot of challenges for this beginning of the year! I hope the student teacher will eventually be able to take on some of your work & help. Also, I suspect that once you get in the swing of the class, you’ll be the expert & helping some of those newbies! Best wishes for deep breaths.

    Reply

    • My student teacher is great, she had to take over this morning while I took on the other first grade class because their teacher went home sick. She’s only been with me six days, and she is ready to take charge! love it! Thanks!

      Reply

  3. Between mentoring a student teacher and starting graduate school, you have a lot going on right now. I’m sure you’re going to make it and do very well! Just remember to take some time for yourself every now and then. 🙂

    Reply

  4. I understand the feeling of running in slow motion! I received my new textbook on the 15th of August and school started the 18th. I don’t know when I am going to catch up! I can’t imagine grad school on top of it! Good luck with all your challenges and don’t forget to BREATHE!

    Reply

  5. Posted by TGH on August 30, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    It is sooo hard to keep up with everything. You have your plate full. Sadly, it is comforting to hear someone else huffing and puffing. I feel like I have these great intentions and get caught up in the smaller stuff that hangs me up. Stay right in the buggy!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Michelle on August 31, 2011 at 1:29 am

    Sounds like lots of learning and reflecting! All of this will make you an even better teacher! As others have mentioned, take time for yourself too and just breathe!

    Reply

  7. Wow – you are spinning a lot of plates! I read your post and kept thinking about how hard teachers work. Even though you are so busy, I could feel through your writing how much you love your work. And when you think about it, who would do this job if they didn’t absolutely love it? 🙂

    Reply

  8. Wow! I admire you! You are going to be a wonderful model for your student teacher. I look forward to hearing more about your year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

