Meant to Be

This is my student teachers last week to teach full time. Next week we team teach and then the week after that she will be observing in other classes. It has been such a joy to see her learn and progress through her time in our classroom.

Today her evaluator came from the college for her last visit. We have commented the few times she has visited at what a natural S seems to be. Today I came into the room after the evaluation; I wanted her to see S in the classroom alone. Her evaluator and I began discussing her lesson and activity, and how well it went.

She once again commented on what a natural S is in the classroom. She went on to say that she has really improved, and seems to have a good grasp on all aspects of the classroom. I agreed and told her how nice it has been to have her teaching with me.

She then said something that surprised me and made me stop and think. She told me that I had been a good teacher to her and that I had been a good role model. I paused because I had never thought of myself as S’s teacher. To me we have just been teaching together. I knew that I was opening my room to her and that I would be sharing ideas and my kiddos, but I never really thought about being her teacher.

To me S has been a friend, a coworker, a confidant, a sounding board, and fellow teacher. She has become part of our school family and my life. She has listened to me talk about my kids, and I have cried with her about her grandpa. It’s as if she has been a part of my life for much longer than the last twelve weeks.

And now her time has almost come to an end. She has become a wonderful teacher. I would like to take the credit, but sometimes teachers are born not made. Sometimes young girls (or boys) dream as young children to grow up to be a teacher, and they do. And sometimes the rest of us are blessed with the gift to watch it come to be.

4 responses to this post.

  1. It’s such a sweet tribute to your friend, & student teacher/colleague. I hope you showed it to her! To form such a good relationship so quickly means credit to you as a welcomer & mentor, also. It’s just sad that it’s ending. I think it’s Dr. Seuss who says, ‘don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened’, or something close to that.

    Reply

  2. What a wonderful tribute to both of you, really. I loved how you described your relationship in the next to last paragraph–I hope she reads your blog, if not, show it to her. It will make her day.

    Reply

  3. I wish all student teachers could have an experience as rich in learning like you have given S. The nice thing you have a friend for life. Well done!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Christy on April 14, 2011 at 1:25 am

    What a rewarding experience…for both of you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

