They Liked it!

They liked it!

I finished the “center room” today and the Kindergarten teachers liked it! I was so glad. I moved things around (some 2 and 3 times) until I thought it fit and looked just right. It’s hard to decide if there is enough space or too much for a tiny body. But I think I made it all fit ok. I did have to make a little more room for the blocks, but after a few scoots it was just right.

When my friend poked her head in about half way through the day and asked if I was ready for the kids to come in; I panicked. Today? I don’t think I’m ready yet. She chuckled and said ok she’d wait. After that I kicked it into high gear and started dusting and putting away (it was all piled in the middle of the room). She told me her kids were going crazy trying to figure out what I was doing in there. I laughed and told her that the little girl who came to check the weather (this room has the only windows to the outside), stood and stared at me for the longest time this morning. Finally I asked if she needed something. She quickly looked out the window and said “no I just checking the weather.” T. laughed and said that one of the kids had asked her if she “had to go to California to check the weather,” she was gone so long.

Later that day when I was hidden behind a bookshelf putting away books I heard two kiddos come in from the other class to get their gym shoes, they couldn’t see me but I could see them looking around. The little boy said, “What is she doing? Cleaning for us?” But the little girl adamantly shook her head and said “No she is getting us ready for first grade!” I almost blew my cover from rolling on the floor in a fit of giggles. Oh if they only knew!!!

I saw and heard some interesting things in kindergarten today. I think next year is going to be a lot of fun!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by the other ruth on March 30, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    So fun! I think I would have given myself away with the giggles. Don’t you just love, love, love working with young kids? 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Elizabeth G. on March 31, 2011 at 12:39 am

    Oh how fun. I love the -preparing us for first grade part. How cute….I want to see pictures though. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Teachers really do like to rearrange. I thought you could do it! So glad it worked out, & I hadn’t thought what a wonderful surprise it must have been for the children. Glad you are getting them “ready”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

