Bored

I am trying my best to keep busy while my student teacher is completing her last few weeks of teaching. Last week I worked on paper work, made lesson plans, and planned for next fall.

This week I decided I can’t sit any more. I am not used to sitting, and I now believe it is more tiring to sit all day doing paperwork than it is to teach a room full of first graders. I am pretty sure I will never be a principal. I like having my small group of kiddos to be with; instead of an entire school and a mountain of reports to fulfill.

Yesterday I stepped into the Kindergarten room before school. We have two kindergarten classes. They each have their own room and share a “center” room. As I stood there talking to the teachers my eyes kept scanning their center room. Finally I had to ask: “Can I rearrange your room, I am so bored.” They at first looked at me as if I was off my rocker, but then shrugged and said, “sure.”

WOO HOO something to do! The room of course doesn’t really need rearranging, and hopefully I won’t make it so “out there” that it is unusable, but I am now busy, and not bored. And I promised to ask before I throw anything away!

Wonder who else needs their things rearranged…..

6 responses to this post.

  1. It’s hard to sit by and give over your classroom! Good for you for finding a good and useful outlet!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Elizabeth G. on March 29, 2011 at 11:33 pm

    I’m sure that the Kindergarten teachers are grateful for your help. I can understand how sitting is frustrating. I don’t know how some teachers sit at their desks during the day. I am on my feet from the moment I get to school until the moment my kiddos leave. Have fun organizing.

    Reply

  3. Just let a teacher into ‘stuff’ and it’ll be moved around so nicely. I bet they loved your ideas.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Michelle on March 30, 2011 at 12:51 am

    Me! Me! I’m quite an organized person, but I tend to have a couple piles. Ya know, important stuff pile, need to go through and file pile, not sure about this pile. Don’t tell, but I have a huge pile that is hidden under my desk. Hopefully I’ll organize it before school is out! If you are willing to travel. . .I’d love a room make over! 🙂 Thanks for the laugh!
    Michelle

    Reply

  5. Posted by Christy on March 30, 2011 at 1:28 am

    Hmm, if we send you classroom photos, can you work up some design options? Too funny! One of the teachers on my team has a student teacher right now and is begging us for things to do.

    Reply

  6. I like your last line. The anticipation, the knowing you will need to do something next. Thanks for sharing this slice of your life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

