This is who I am

If you know me, you know: I grew up in the city, but wouldn’t change my country life for anything.

If you know me, you know: I am the oldest in my house (and the shortest), but the youngest sibling in my family.

If you know me, you know: when I was young I was easily persuaded to do “things” with my brothers, even if meant a black eye, cut foot, or sore hands.

If you know me, you know: I don’t like to fish, but when I do I often catch the most or the biggest.

If you know me, you know: I can buck bales, and stack hay, but have horrible hay fever.

If you know me, you know: the only thing I ever wanted as a child was a horse, and the only thing I ever wanted to give my daughter was the same.

If you know me, you know: I am slow to anger and quick to forgive unless it involves my kids.

If you know me, you know: I love to read and write and my favorite spot to do both is my patio.

If you know me, you know: I love to cook, but I am a picky eater.

If you know me, you know: I love to laugh, but cry often.

If you know me, you know: I love my family more than the air I breathe, but I am not very good at telling them.

If you know me, you know: I can ride a horse, sew a quilt, shoot a gun, do the splits, and walk in high heels, but rarely do any more.

If you know me, you know: I like to go places, but there is no place I’d rather be than home.

If you know me, you know: my house may be clean, but my closets are usually a mess.

If you know me, you know: I have thoughts, and ideas on many things, but often won’t share.

If you know me, you know: I like to have friends and family close, and do my best to make it happen often.

If you know me, you know: I aspire to learn new things and hope to inspire through teaching.

If you know me, you know: I don’t go to church, but my faith is probably stronger than some that do.

If you know me, you know: that I have been married over 25 years, he was my first real love and will be my last.

If you know me, you know: my kids are my life and I am in awe of the lives they are making for themselves.

If you know me, you know: sometimes I’m cranky, moody and quiet, but I do my best not to let it show.

If you know me, you know: I am not very organized and often forget things that are important, but I am learning to write things down.

If you know me, you know: I would love to live near water, but don’t want to be in it.

If you know me, you know: I love shoes, but I am almost always barefoot.

If you know me, you know: I miss the mountains, but will never leave the plains.

If you know me, you know: I go to bed early, but often don’t sleep because of the stories and thoughts running through my head.

If you know me, you know: my favorite time of day is day break, but sometimes I roll over just to sleep in.

If you know me, you know: If I could I would give my children everything they ever wanted, but can’t and don’t.

If you know me, you know: I don’t like the cold, but Christmas is my favorite holiday.

If you know me, you know: I can’t sing, but I can dance.

If you know me, you know: I like places like Dollywood and Silver Dollar City, but I don’t like the rides.

If you know me, you know: I hate June Bugs, but LOVE the month of June.

If you know me, you know: that when I think of the word “home” I see my grandparents farm, and the memories we shared.

If you know me, you know: I am a wife, mom, sister, daughter, aunt, niece, teacher, and friend.

This is me, who are you?

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michelle on March 27, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    Wow! What an extensive list — I’ve learned so much about you just in this post alone! Love the comparison/contradiction in each line. I may just have to try something like this . . . Great writing prompt for kids too! A great beginning of they year writing!
    Thanks for being so open and sharing who you are!
    Michelle

    Reply

  2. Wanting to live by a lake, but not wanting to be in it–same here. We live by the lake and let everyone we know enjoy it, but for me, I just like to look at it and all the things that go with it!! Good assignment for anyone–blogger or student!

    Reply

  3. I love this. I agree with Michelle…love how you compared different parts of who you are and the lines often contradicted. We are all so complex! I want to try this too.

    Reply

  4. Posted by the other ruth on March 27, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    I LOVE this post! It is one of my very favorites from the entire month so far, and unless I’m wrong (and if you knew me, you’d know I hate to be wrong), it will still be one of my favorites after the month is over.
    Clever crafting, and would be a wonderful writing exercise for others to try–like me!

    Reply

    • Thank you to all of you! You are so nice and make me feel so good. I have absolutely loved this SOL month! Before now no one saw my writing except… me! Because of this month and everyone’s comments I may have the courage to try and publish a story I wrote last summer….I may try it out on here first though! I think this would make a fun writing exercise for a classroom as well.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

