The Price of Gas

 

Sometimes I have a hard time keeping a straight face in my class. There is a very fine line between studious teacher, and my sarcastic tendencies.

I do my best. I really do. But sometimes it is even too much for me. Sometimes I just have to “let it out” even when the kids are trying to be so serious and grown up.

I know you know what I’m talking about. Gas. Yes gas. Gas in first grade is ALWAYS around and always hilarious, even when the teacher tries to hide her giggle, and keep teaching as if nothing has been herd…or smelled.

It comes at the most inopportune times. In the middle of a story, while we are testing, reading, or just walking across the classroom.

The best (or worst) is when the teacher is reading a sad or serious story, someone scoots in their spots, or leans in to listen, and…oops there it is… TOOT. And the children roll, eyes go big, snickers are swallowed, and eyes fly to me. As if it was ME!

I of course continue to read. Or write. Or teach. And eventually they follow suit.

But inside I am howling. Biting my tongue with a witty retort (one I’d give my own kids), trying not to lose them, the moment, or my “control.”

But today I almost- ALMOST lost all of that. My shyest of shy kiddos walked past as I finished reading with another child, and there it was…toot. And there I was right behind him. He stopped, hesitated looked as if he wanted to say something, glanced at me from the corner of his eye, as I did the same to him, head down he chanced it, and kept on walking.

I turned, covered my mouth and snickered as quietly as I could. I’m so glad no one else heard him, or me. Poor kiddo. Poor teacher.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Jayna Swords on March 13, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    I laughed so hard reading this!!!! Hilarious!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

