Sunrise Sermon

There is no better time of day than sunrise on a Sunday morning. The quiet of the house as the sun makes it way above the rooftops and treetops to rest on my kitchen table is warming and welcoming. Too cold to sit on my patio, but I can bask in its warmth from the perfect spot at my kitchen table.

Its dawning brings memories, feelings, and thoughts from days gone by, but also beckons me to rein in hopes for tomorrow and gather them closer. The hope of new beginnings, and lessons cultivated from the past.

The birds seem to chastise me from their perch on our fence, but the sun hushes their call. I hear the distant whistle of the freight train evading my morning as it makes its way through the nearby town, and I know too soon all will begin to stir with their own take on the day.  I see things that need to be done, that I should be doing, but in this moment I am insusceptible to their effect. I push them away.

The sun knows too the pull it has over me. It warms my face and rekindles my spirit. It lets me know that warmer days are just ahead and that Sunday mornings are here for a mere sliver of time.

My table and face becomes awash in its glory, its stillness and warmth envelope me. I succumb to its sermon, and breathlessly sigh. Right now is my time to be still with my thoughts. It is my time to be me.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Beautifully stated! I felt as if I was there with you, that’s powerful. Lucky first graders to have a teacher that can write like this.

    Reply

  2. Your line, “Too cold to sit on my patio, but I bask in its warmth from the perfect spot at the kitchen table” really sticks with me. It really gives a feeling of warmth in your house but still too cold to sit outside. Your slice has me wishing for spring.

    Reply

  3. Posted by isestudent on March 7, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    Beautifully captured moments and thoughts. The last paragraph is poetic. It touched me.
    Terje

    Reply

Leave a Reply

