Good Morning

Tenderly I enter her room in the pink tinge of dawn. I brush the hair from her peaceful sleeping face and whisper “time to get up Sweet-Pea.”

 She stirs but doesn’t wake. I retreat. A few more minutes won’t hurt.

Switching on her light I go in once again. This time long pink toes peek out at my end. The top is drawn with twisted covers. Those toes remind me of her daddy, long and narrow, but the florescent orange nails are all her own.

“Come on time to get moving” I prompt.

  A moan and movement, I make my way back to ready myself.

“Are you up” I call from the kitchen.

Movement once again, sleepy footsteps tread across the living room floor. I turn my cheek to hers as she lays her head on my shoulder. “I don’t feel good.”

“Only six more days until spring break” I remind. I want to pull her into my lap.

Off she marches to her bedroom once again.

I’m ready. I listen as she readies herself. I wait silently in the kitchen sipping my morning caffeine, and drinking in the morning sun, finally no snow or cold.  

Her backpack hits the floor by the front door. Her swim bag is zipped shut. The long toes are now covered by cowboy boots, and hair that hid her sleeping face is in its customary pony tail.

“Bye Mom,” she calls as she opens the door. I hurry in to wish her a good day, and remind her to be careful. She’s out the door and climbing into her truck as she waves her goodbyes.

I stand in the doorway and watch as she drives out of the yard; dust from the drive trying to keep up like me. I lean my head on the door and sigh.

 I’m going to miss this.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I was drawn into the writing from the first images. My initial picture was of a small child sleeping, so I like the twist with her driving off in her cowboy boots. Great imagery, I especially like the line, “I wait silently in the kitchen sipping my morning caffeine, and drinking in the morning sun…”

    Reply

    • I love comments! They make a bad day good, and an Ok day GREAT! Thank you. I’m so happy I got over my shyness and took the plunge to slice my way through March!

      Reply

  2. Posted by Michelle on March 4, 2011 at 3:51 am

    Great slice of your life that obviously means so much to you! I thought you were waking a young child and then to learn through your vivid descriptions it was a teenage daughter. Wow! From the nails to the cowboy boots to the ponytail to leaving in the truck. What an image!

    Your last line reminds me of the Trace Adkins country song “You’re gonna miss this” or Kenny Chesney’s song “Don’t Blink.” So true. So true. And my babies are only 10 months old!!!

    Thanks for sharing! Looking forward to more!

    Reply

    • ahhh Michelle two of my favorite singers and songs, and you’re right so true. Cherish those babies every day! Thank you for your comment!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

