My first Slice

Today I am writing my first “Slice of Life” blog post! I have wanted to do this for a very long time, but felt shy and unsure if my post would be “good enough” “well written enough,” “interesting enough,” or “relevant.” But today I am using my energy and taking that leap to write away…no matter my insecurities.

We go back to school tomorrow after a nice holiday break, and I can’t help but wonder if some of my kiddos won’t come back with some of the worries and thoughts that I mentioned above. Although we have been with each other all year, I know that after a break it is often just like starting fresh. I have spent many days in my classroom over the break hoping to ease some of their worries as soon as they step through the door. It is my hope to pick up right where we left off, and to make the second half of our first grade year as enjoyable as the first.

Our first activity will be to find a word for each kiddo for the year, and to write a list of intentions for our class and 2011. Of course this will be after all the stories and sharing about the great fun they had on the break, and what “Santa” brought everyone. Sounds like a great mini-lesson for writing workshop!

Happy 2011 to all! I am so excited to become a regular “Slicer” here in the mid-west!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Wendy Wooters on January 4, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    Tammy you are such a terrific teacher. I have no doubts that your kids are excited to see you as you are to see them!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

