A Tale of Two Blogs

 

In August of 2010 I started my first blog. I had spent my entire summer “stalking” the Two Writing Teachers blog. I coveted. I envied. I dreamed. And finally I jumped. I jumped into the blogging world with First Grade and Fence Posts, and my first post. I was soon opened up to and living through a whole new world.

I have always dreamed of “writing” and thanks to Ruth and Stacey I now had a venue. The friends I “met” and the stories I read from others made my week, and encouraged me to do MORE. In March of 2011 I joined in the Slice of Life Challenge Ruth and Stacey host. I was in LOVE! I sliced each day (except when I had internet trouble), I read comments, made comments, and spent my day dreaming of what I would slice about next. I spoke of Linda, Michelle, the “other Ruth,” Elsie, and so many more to my husband as if they were our closest of neighbors and friends.

Slicing opened my eyes to Professional Development that I had only dreamed of. These bloggers knew who Katie Ray Wood, Debbie Miller, and so many more were, and could join in talks and discussions of their great work (something my teacher friends at my small school couldn’t). They led me to a professional development experience in the summer of 2011 that I still think and write about (a 98/100 on my literature review of Debbie Miller this fall!!! Woo hoo).

And then came the awareness of other blogs in blog-land. I stumbled upon Abby at The Inspired Apple, and Cara Carroll at The First Grade Parade. And I fell in awe again. These ladies did it all. They not only blogged but they posted the items they used, and shared ideas for classrooms, and teaching units. Through their example Klinger Café was born.

I tried the combining of the two blogs, but they somehow did not mesh. FGFP is my first love, my place to reflect, gripe, boast, whine, and create stories-thoughts of MY world-my life. It’s where I feel I can write and be me, and will always be accepted.

KC is where I try to keep up (but can’t). I have been introduced to blog buttons, blog stalking, blog hops, giveaways, freebies, and linky parties. I have worked at figuring them all out. I don’t know how to post creative worksheets (yet). I am afraid of breaking “blogging rules” that many speak of (although I have yet to find them written in stone anywhere), and I have not learned the mechanics of cute graphics and lettering, but I am working on it. I am drawn to all the wonderful “teacher” blogs out there. I have “met” many amazing and wonderful teachers, and am appreciative of all they too have shown me, and helped me experience.

The past weeks I have contemplated the difference in the two blogging worlds, and which I prefer (I have trouble keeping up with both), which one I should let go, and which one I should devote my time to. But I can’t let go, or maybe I won’t. I love my “slicing” at FGFP and have a good time with “linking” and “stalking” at KC.

I am appreciative to the growth they have given me, and the world they have both opened me up to (although different ways). I hope I’m not breaking any rules or losing any “buddies” through my plight of two blogs, but until I learn how to join them in harmony I will continue my life as a double blogger, and do my best to give them equal time.

Thanks for allowing me to tag along as I muddle through my blogging endeavors. I hope everyone has the best of holiday season, it is warm (40ish) here in Ok, but snow is lurking next door in Kansas….if only it would blow a little this way.

Tammy

9 responses to this post.

  1. First, thanks for the shout-out. I’m so glad you participated in last year’s challenge (which I missed since I was a new mama) and that it brought you closer to other writers. Remember, there are conferences and other special events that might help you meet these people one day. And when you do, it’ll be wonderful! I’ve been lucky enough to meet several other slicers at TC and at NCTE, which is just grand!

    It’s hard to figure out how to walk the balance of the two blogs. I have a few blogs (one of which is private since it’s about my daughter) and it’s crazy! It’s hard to figure out who you are, as a writer, on each of them. Don’t worry about figuring it out now. It’s been over five years of blogging for me and I still can’t figure out how to balance all of my blogging.

    Thank you for the links to some of the other blogs you listed above. I will certainly check them out.

    Enjoy your snow day in Kansas. I’ve heard you’re really getting hit hard out there. Stay warm.

    Happy Hoildays Tammy.

    Reply

  2. I’m so impressed with your efforts. I have a blog, but it’s more like your first one. I use Twitter to share some ideas and connect with others, but time isn’t always easy to find. Happy Holidays!

    Reply

  3. Ahhh…I know what you mean. I think like most writing projects blogs grow and change. Sometimes they adapt and sometimes they end. You’ll know if you need to make a change. Until then, enjoy the adventure.

    And, I’m glad you decided to join the blog world and it is making a difference in your life. I know I’m glad to hear your stories. 🙂

    Happy writing,
    Ruth

    Reply

  4. I am in awe that you can maintain more than one blog! I keep thinking I will post more than SOLS but never get to it. I always enjoy your enthusiasm and spark of life when you post. Keep in touch, I’ll be waiting to hear what’s next. Have a great break!

    Reply

  5. I enjoyed your description of the different personalities of your blogs. I respect the reasons why you have each one. I am awestruck that you maintain two!

    Reply

  6. Tammy, I actually had forgotten about the first blog, although when you gave the name, I remembered liking what you had done with it, & I like the other one too. I wish you well in getting all this done. I am in awe as well of the fact you are doing two blogs. And I still struggle to maintain some thread through what I’m doing. Change & growth is good, remember, so good luck with however you work it out! And Merry Christmas!

    Reply

  7. Tammy,
    I know what you mean! There are so many new opportunities for growing and learning as a reader, writer, and educator! I share my time with my professional blog that turned into a “slice” blog because that’s what I found worked for me. I also have a personal blog about my girls that I have truly neglected. Then I jumped on board the Twitter craze, which I love! Balancing is so hard, oh, and we all have families to take care of and full time jobs!!! Can’t forget about that.

    Best of luck to you as you figure things out. I guess my only advice is to continue doing what makes you happy. Don’t worry about the “followers” or what you think they are expecting and waiting for. The writing and creating is for you, to make your heart happy. 🙂 And when you do post here, know that you make my heart happy too.

    Merry Christmas! Happy New Year!
    Michelle

    Reply

  8. I ended up having two blogs too – but I have not figured out all of the wonderful things you mention – and I hope I’m not breaking rules too – but all the richness you describe about blogging is ditto ditto ditto.

    Reply

  9. Balancing is very hard. I will check out the other blogs you listed. I have three. Two have gotten quite neglected. I am still struggling with balance. We don’t have any snow here in Billings, MT.

    Reply

Leave a comment